

The Twenty Eighth Conference of The Samuel Griffith Society

12th - 14th August, 2016

Stamford Plaza 150 North Terrace Adelaide, South Australia 5000

Friday, 12 August 2016

5:30pm: Registration

6:00pm: Pre Conference Cocktail Party (Sponsored by the Institute of Public Affairs)

7:30pm: Dinner (Chairman - Stuart Wood QC, Society Secretary)

Honourable Tony Abbott MP - "Our Present Discontents" Vote of thanks: John Stone, Co-Founder of the Society

Saturday, 13 August 2016

8:30am: Registration

8:45am: Opening Remarks (Eddy Gisonda)

Session 1: "Judicial Method" (Chairman - Ben Jellis)

9:00am: Professor Jeffrey Goldsworthy - "Using Statutory Interpretation to Protect Rights"

9:30am: Discussion

9:45am: Dr Lael Weis - "Originalism in Australia"

10:15am: Discussion

10:30am: Morning Tea

Session 2: "Taxation" (Chairman - Mark Livesey QC)

11:00am: Special Address

Honourable Chris Kourakis, Chief Justice of South Australia

"In re Revenue Taxation and the Federation: The States v The Commonwealth"

11:30am: Break

11:45am: Simon Steward QC - "Taxation of Multinational Corporations"

12:15pm: Discussion

12:30pm: Lunch

Session 3A: "Protecting Human Rights" (Chairman - Jeffrey Phillips SC)

2:00pm: Margaret Cunneen SC - "The Independent Commission against Corruption"

2:30pm: Discussion

2:45pm: Brendan O'Neill - "*Freedom of Speech*"

3:15pm: Discussion

3:30pm: Afternoon Tea

Session 4: "Reserve Powers of the Crown" (Chairman - Hon Richard Court AC)

4:00pm: Don Morris FRGS - "The Perils of Defining the Reserve Powers of the Crown"

4:30pm: Discussion

4:45pm: Sir David Smith KCVO AO - "The Dismissal: 40 years on"

5:15pm: Discussion

5:30pm: Free time

Sir Harry Gibbs Memorial Oration

7:00pm: Drinks

7:30pm: Dinner (Chairman - Hon Ian Callinan AC, Society President)

Honourable Chief Justice Robert French AC - "Giving and Taking Offence"

Vote of thanks: Bevan Lawrence, Board Member of the Society

Sunday, 14 August 2016

Session 5: "The Parliament" (Chairman - Senator Bob Day AO)

9:00am: Honourable Dr Peter Patmore AM - "The Clerks"

9:30am: Discussion

9:45am: Honourable Dr Ken Coghill - "*The Speaker*"

10:15am: Discussion

10:30am: Morning Tea

10:45am: Presentations

Session 3B: "Protecting Human Rights cont..." (Chairman - John O'Sullivan CBE)

11:00am: Professor James Allan - "The Teaching of Human Rights"

11:30am: Discussion

11:45am: John Roskam - "The Erosion of Rights in Australia"

12:15pm: Discussion

12:30pm: Concluding Remarks (President - Honourable Ian Callinan AC)

Speakers:

Honourable Tony Abbott 28th Prime Minister of Australia

Professor James Allan Garrick Professor of Law, University of Queensland

Honourable Dr Ken Coghill Former Speaker of the Victorian Parliament

Margaret Cunneen SC Deputy Senior Crown Prosecutor for the State of New South Wales

Honourable Robert French AC Chief Justice of the High Court of Australia

Professor Jeffrey Goldsworthy Professor of Law, Monash University

Honourable Christopher Kourakis Chief Justice of South Australia

Don Morris FRGS Member of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal

Brendan O'Neill Editor and UK Columnist

Honourable Dr Peter Patmore AM Former Deputy Premier of the State of Tasmania

John Roskam Executive Director of the Institute of Public Affairs

Sir David Smith KCVO AO Former Official Secretary, Governor-General of Australia

Simon Steward QC One of Her Majesty's Counsel for the State of Victoria

Dr Lael Weis Lecturer, University of Melbourne

The Samuel Griffith Society PO Box 13076, Law Courts, VIC 8010 (03) 9225 8512

Email: contact@samuelgriffith.org.au

www.samuelgriffith.org.au