

## The

# **Thirty-Third Conference**

of

# **The Samuel Griffith Society**

25<sup>th</sup> - 27<sup>th</sup> August, 2023

The Park Hyatt 1 Parliament Square East Melbourne, Victoria 3002

#### Friday, 25 August 2023

4:00 pm:	Special Pre-Conference Event
	Tour of Victorian Parliament House and Reception at the Ray Evans Institute
6:30 pm:	Pre-Dinner Drinks
7:00 pm:	<u><b>Dinner</b></u> (Chair - Stuart Wood AM KC) With an introduction by The Honourable Amanda Stoker Speaker: The Honourable John Anderson AC
	Vote of thanks: Scott Hargreaves
10:30 pm:	After-Dinner Drinks
	Saturday, 26 August 2023
8:00 am:	Registration
8:45 am:	Opening Remarks - Xavier Boffa
Session 1:	"The 'Voice' and the Constitution" (Chair - Robyn Sweet KC)
9:00 am:	Associate Professor Scott Stephenson - "Is the Voice Constitutionally Conservative?"
9:30 am:	Discussion
9:45 am:	Professor Nicholas Aroney - "The Constitutional Implications of Recognising Australia's First Peoples"
10:15 am:	Discussion
10:30 am:	Legacy Society Morning Tea Tributes to Dr Nancy Stone
11:15 am:	The 13 <sup>th</sup> Sir Harry Gibbs Memorial Oration

With an introduction by The Honourable Justice Steward, High Court of Australia Speaker: Allan Myers AC, KC

Vote of thanks: The Honourable Justice Anderson, Federal Court of Australia

Session 2:	"The Rule of Law" (Chair - Georgina Downer)
12:15 pm: 12:45 pm:	Fr Tony Percy - "The Calvary Hospital Takeover: Unjust Compulsory Acquisitions" Discussion
1:00 pm:	Lunch
Session 2:	"The Rule of Law" cont. (Chair - Amy Wood)
2:00 pm:	Louise Clegg - "Losing our Legend: Why our Washminster is Vulnerable to Entrenching Identity"
2:30 pm:	Discussion
2:45 pm:	The Honourable Neil Brown KC - "The Voice and the Rule of Law"
3:15 pm:	Discussion

3:30 pm:	30 <sup>th</sup> Anniversary Society Afternoon Tea
	Presentation of the original research of the Society's secretariat in 2023
Session 3:	"The 'Voice' in Context" (Chair - Morgan Begg)
4:00 pm:	John Storey - "The Voice in Context: International Research and the New Zealand Experience"
4:30 pm:	Discussion
4:45 pm:	The Honourable Douglas Drummond KC - "The Reconquest of Australia"
5:15 pm:	Discussion
5:30 pm:	Free time
6:30 pm:	Pre-Dinner Drinks
7:00 pm:	Dinner (Chair - The Honourable Nick Minchin AO)
	With an introduction by The Honourable Dan Tehan MP
	Speaker: The Honourable Dr David Kemp AC
	Vote of thanks: The Honourable Rod Kemp AM
10:30 pm:	After-Dinner Drinks
	Sunday, 27 August 2023
Session 4:	<b>"Referendums"</b> (Chair - Jessica Keir)
9:00 am:	Paul Jeffreys - "Constitutional Limitations on an Australian Referendum Question"
9:30 am:	Discussion
9:45 am:	Stuart Wood AM, KC - "The 1967 Referendum: Five Myths"
10:15 am:	Discussion

- 10:30 am:Morning TeaPresentation of the 2023 John Nethercote Prize
- Session 5: "Australian History" (Chair The Honourable David Davis MLC)
- **11:00 am:** Keith Windschuttle "*Truth-telling about Samuel Griffith*"
- **11:30 pm:** Discussion

#### 11:45 am: <u>The Inaugural Sir David Smith Memorial Oration</u>

With an introduction by The Honourable Nick Minchin AO Speaker: The Honourable Eric Abetz *Vote of thanks:* Michael Smith and Richard Smith

**12:30 pm:** Concluding Remarks - Professor James Allan

### The Society's next conference will be held 24-26 May 2024 on the Gold Coast

### **Speakers:**

The Honourable Eric Abetz Former Senator for the State of Tasmania
The Honourable John Anderson, AC 11<sup>th</sup> Deputy Prime Minister of Australia
Professor Nicholas Aroney Professor of Constitutional Law, University of Queensland
The Honourable Neil Brown, KC 8<sup>th</sup> Deputy Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Liberal Party
Louise Clegg Barrister at Law in the State of New South Wales
The Honourable Douglas Drummond, KC Former Justice of the Supreme Court of Queensland
Paul Jeffreys Barrister at Law in the State of Victoria
The Honourable Dr David Kemp, AC 53<sup>rd</sup> Vice-President of the Federal Executive Council
Allan Myers, AC, KC 22<sup>nd</sup> Chancellor of the University of Melbourne
Fr Tony Percy Vicar General of the Archdiocese of Canberra-Goulburn
Dr Scott Stephenson Associate Professor, Melbourne Law School
The Honourable Simon Steward Justice of the High Court of Australia
John Storey Director, Legal Rights Program at the Institute of Public Affairs
Keith Windschuttle Historian and Author
Stuart Wood AM, KC One of His Majesty's Counsel for the State of Victoria

The Samuel Griffith Society PO Box 13076, Law Courts, VIC 8010 (03) 9225 8512 Email: contact@samuelgriffith.org.au www.samuelgriffith.org

You can support the work of the Society by making a fully taxdeductible contribution using the QR code below:

